(304) 843-4444

Marshall County Service Personnel and Teacher of the Year Named

by | Apr 28, 2021

From left: Heather Haught (Teacher of the Year) and Julia Clayton (Service Personnel Member of the Year).

Marshall County Board of Education members and county administrators recognized Service Personnel and Teacher of the Year nominees during the regular board meeting on Tuesday evening.

Each year service personnel, teachers and administrators vote a faculty and staff member to represent their building as a county contender. Then a committee, consisting of county office officials and previous award recipients, conduct interviews and choose the county winners.

Glen Dale Elementary School Cafeteria Manager Julia Clayton was named Service Personnel Member of the Year for Marshall County Schools. Clayton started with the school district as a substitute cook in 2005. She was hired fulltime in 2011 at Central Elementary School and was promoted to her current position in 2020. Clayton can be seen at work early and she stays late several days per week.

“I love my job,” Clayton explained. “If it weren’t for having to pay bills, I would do this job for free. I love the kids and everyone I work with at Glen Dale Elementary.”

Clayton makes sure she talks to the students daily while promoting upcoming menu favorites to get kids excited for lunch.

Heather Haught, a first-grade teacher at McNinch Primary School, was awarded Marshall County Schools Teacher of the Year. She holds a Master of Arts in Elementary Education from West Virginia University, a Master of Arts in Reading from West Virginia University and a Professional Administrative Certificate from Wheeling University.

Haught is dedicated to her school and the children she teaches each year. She works hard to make sure they feel safe, valued and they are educated to the best of her ability while they are in her classroom. Watching her students learn, grow and improve throughout the year is what she considers to be the most rewarding part of being a teacher.

Service Personnel Member of the Year Nominees also included: Dave Magers (Bus Garage), Jason Courtwright (Cameron Elementary School), Michael Moore (Cameron High School), Tammy Lemley (Center McMechen Elementary School), Emily Gaughenbaugh (Central Elementary School),  Denise Phillips (County Office), Kathy Korngiver (Hilltop Elementary School),  Pam Whorton (John Marshall High School), Gary Mercer (Maintenance), Elizabeth Roberts (McNinch Primary School), Tammy Sessums (Moundsville Middle School), Beth Gilles (Sand Hill Elementary School), William Games (Sherrard Middle School) and Donald “Buddy” Blake (Washington Lands Elementary School).

Other Teacher of the Year nominees at each school included: Jessica Dorsey (Cameron Elementary School), Andrea Magers (Cameron High School), Beth Ann Winland (Center McMechen Elementary School), Emily Swoger (Central Elementary School), Catherine Folmar (Gateway Achievement Center), Sherry Loy (Glen Dale Elementary School), Pam Gatts (Hilltop Elementary School), Ryan Asbury (John Marshall High School), Kelli Gonot (John Marshall High School), Melissa Glasgow (Moundsville Middle School), Mindy Thomas (Sand Hill Elementary School), Dan Gatts (Sherrard Middle School) and Eli Lambie (Washington Lands Elementary School).

All Service Personnel Members of the Year and Teacher of the Year nominees were presented with a certificate for being chosen as designees at their respective district locations.